Lost Generation

Today the principals and vice-principals of our board got together for a keynote address, lunch and professional presentation.  One of our keynote speakers was Chris D’Souza, an educator in Toronto who is working to eradicate hate, and to promote true equity in education through student leadership and empowerment.  He shared a powerful video with us and I felt compelled to share it.

This is another version of the same text, but with the first few sentences written.

I refuse to believe that our students are lazy, apathetic and selfish.  I refuse to believe that they choose to behave in a certain way because they are stupid, or they don’t care.  I refuse to believe that all they need to do is “get their act together”, or just make more of an effort.  I refuse to dislike my students and I refuse to not show them love.

I believe in my students, and I have hope for our future generations because of the people I work with – here at my board and beyond. If there is a lost generation, then it’s because we lost them.

4 thoughts on “Lost Generation

  1. My 2 lightbulbs….

    Your ‘I refuse to believe that they choose to behave in a certain way because they are stupid, or they don’t care. I refuse to believe that all they need to do is “get their act together”, or just make more of an effort. ‘ sounds frighteningly similar to “Children do well if they can” or the way I conceptualize it “When are challenging children challenging? When they don’t have the skills not to be.”

    and your ‘I refuse to dislike my students and I refuse to not show them love.’ sounds like Rebecca H-M’s e-mail signature which I repeat often (and VERY firmly believe and champion on a daily basis)….’Children need love, especially when they don’t deserve it.’ (and yes, I know that kids are never NOT deserving of love, but I’m sure you get the point of the phrase).

  2. Erin,

    Another nice reflection…wish I was there! I am with you. I don’t believe that any of our students wake up in the morning and choose to be apathetic…when confronted by an all to common “he/she” is just lazy/defiant etc…I often respond with questions like:
    Who doesn’t want to succeed socially and academically?
    Who doesn’t want to make a positive difference in the lives of others?
    Who doesn’t want to have a better understanding of the world around them?
    Who wakes up deciding that they want to be in constant conflict with those around them?

    Thanks Erin. Hope to run into you soon.

Leave a Reply

